• en-USfr-CA

Our Company

Governance Practices

As a financial institution, Assumption Life recognizes the importance of sound governance. The Company has in place to this end numerous policies, procedures and programs based on best practices in the industry.

Role of Board of Directors

The role of the Board of Directors is to oversee management of the Company's affairs. Its responsibilities include defining the Company's main orientations and ensuring that the Company's management team is competent, focused and capable of managing the Company successfully. It is also responsible for ensuring that the Company's activities are carried out in compliance with applicable laws and that the necessary systems are in place for identifying and managing the main risks associated with its activities.

Composition of Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is currently made up of ten members. Only the president and CEO is also a member of the Company's management team. The other nine members are independent. The Board is chaired by one of the independent members. The maximum duration of a chair's term is three consecutive years.

The Board of Directors follows a formal process for selecting new members. Board members are chosen based on their integrity, sense of responsibility, knowledge about financial matters and professional expertise in areas relating to the Company's activities.

Activities of Board of Directors

The Board of Directors holds five regular meetings per year plus one annual strategic planning session. The independent members meet in a closed session before or after each board meeting without Management present. The Board establishes a work calendar each year covering all aspects of its mandate.

Ethics

The Board of Directors has in place and reviews periodically a Code of Ethics applicable to its members as well as to all Company managers and employees. The Code of Ethics contains guidelines governing:

  • compliance with applicable laws, regulations, policies and procedures
  • handling of information (confidentiality, protection of personal information)
  • conflicts of interest
  • workplace ethics
  • ethics in business relations

The Code of Ethics prescribes that all Board members, managers and employees of the Company avoid any situation in which their personal interests compromise, or could potentially compromise in any manner whatsoever, the Company's interests as well as any situation that might be perceived as creating a conflict of interest. The directors are also subject to a conflict of interest policy. In addition, any board member having a direct or indirect interest in any contract with the Company must declare this interest and may neither attend nor participate in the vote on a motion to approve the associated contract. 

Board members, managers and employees are required to complete a conflict of interest questionnaire on an annual basis in which they must disclose any existing conflicts and confirm that they have not used or disclosed confidential information concerning the Company without its authorization.

Committees

The Board of Directors has five standing committees: the Governance Committee, the Audit and Review Committee, the Human Resources Committee and the Investment Committee. Each committee functions in accordance with a written mandate revised on an annual basis and is subject to an annual evaluation in regard to this mandate.

The Governance Committee is made up of the chair of the Board, the vice-chair, the president and CEO and the chair of each standing committee. Its mandate is to oversee the establishment, development and optimal operation of the Board of Directors and its committees and to ensure that the Company's mission and strategic directions serve the best interests of the Company and its clients and insureds. It represents the Board of Directors when it is impractical for the Board to meet.

The Audit Committee is made up of four independent board members with knowledge about financial matters. Its mandate is to assist the board of directors in fulfilling its responsibilities with respect to financial audits and monitoring. It is also responsible for reviewing all transactions between the Company and related parties with a view to gauging their impact on the Company's solvency and stability and ensuring compliance with applicable laws.

The Review Committee is made up of independent directors. Its mandate is to look at transactions between the Company and related parties to assess the impact on the Company’s solvency and stability and ensure applicable laws are respected.

The Human Resources Committee defines the management philosophy in human resources and ensures that appropriate policies and practices are in place in this regard and monitors their implementation. It recommends compensation policies to the Board and carries out evaluations of the president and CEO.

The Investment Committee oversees the development and monitoring of the Company's investment policies.

See the members' attendance to Board meetings and participation in the committees by clicking here.

Training

Orientation is provided to new Board members in the form of a Guide for New Board Members including information on the Company, its organizational structure, its internal operations, its strategic directions and the regulatory framework as well as on the obligations of Board members. New Board members are also encouraged to discuss various matters with senior managers to increase their knowledge about the Company's activities and the regulatory context during an orientation day. In addition, Board members are provided ongoing training during their terms concerning the Company's primary activities and recent trends in the financial services industry.

Evaluation

The Board of Directors has processes in place for annual evaluations of the Board, its committees and all committee chairs. These evaluations take the form of self-evaluation questionnaires. The Board and its committees are evaluated in terms of their mandates. Evaluation results are submitted to the Board, which proposes improvements and develops action plans. Directors are evaluated by other directors using a peer-evaluation questionnaire. A formal evaluation process also exists for the performance of the president and CEO, who is evaluated annually in terms of the objectives defined for each particular year and personal skills described in the skills profile.

Compensation

Board members (other than the chair of the Board and the CEO) receive fees of $12,500 per year; the chair of the board receives fees of $25,000; committee chairs receive additional fees of $2,500 per year; and the chair of the Audit Committee receives a further additional fee of $1,500 per year.

Board members also receive attendance fees of $400 for the Investment Committee and of $650 for the other committees or Board meetings that they attend.

Notre compagnie

Pratiques de gouvernance

En tant qu’institution financière, Assomption Vie reconnaît l’importance d’une saine gouvernance. À cette fin, la Compagnie a établi bon nombre de politiques, de procédures et de programmes inspirés des meilleures pratiques dans l’industrie.

Rôle du Conseil d’administration

Le rôle du Conseil d’administration est de superviser la gestion des affaires de la Compagnie. Il lui incombe notamment de fixer les grandes orientations de la Compagnie et de s’assurer que la Compagnie est dotée d’une équipe de gestion qui soit compétente, focalisée et capable de gérer la Compagnie avec succès. Il lui incombe, en outre, de veiller à ce que les activités de la Compagnie se déroulent dans le respect des lois applicables et d’assurer la mise en place des systèmes nécessaires au recensement et à la gestion des principaux risques liés à ses activités

Composition du Conseil d’administration

Le Conseil d’administration compte actuellement dix administrateurs. Seul le président-directeur général est membre de la direction de la Compagnie. Les neuf autres administrateurs sont indépendants. La présidence du Conseil est assurée par un administrateur indépendant. La durée maximale du mandat à la présidence est de trois années consécutives.

Le Conseil d’administration a un processus formel de sélection des nouveaux administrateurs. Les membres du Conseil sont choisis en fonction de leur intégrité, de leur sens de responsabilité, de leurs connaissances en matière financière et de leur expertise professionnelle dans les domaines touchant les activités de la Compagnie.

Fonctionnement du Conseil d’administration

Le Conseil d’administration tient cinq réunions régulières par année, plus une session annuelle de planification stratégique. Les administrateurs indépendants se réunissent à huis clos avant ou après chaque réunion du Conseil, sans la présence de la Direction. Le Conseil établit un plan de travail pour l’année qui comprend tous les éléments de son mandat.

Éthique

Le Conseil d’administration a adopté et révise périodiquement un Code d’éthique qui s’applique aux administrateurs, aux dirigeants et à l’ensemble des employés de la Compagnie. Le Code d’éthique renferme des lignes directrices sur :

  • le respect des lois, règlements, politiques et procédures applicables,
  • le traitement de l’information (confidentialité, protection des renseignements personnels),
  • les conflits d’intérêts,
  • l’éthique au travail,
  • l’éthique dans les relations d’affaires.

Le Code d’éthique précise que les administrateurs, les dirigeants et les employés de la Compagnie doivent éviter toute situation où leurs intérêts personnels nuisent ou pourraient nuire de quelque façon que ce soit aux intérêts de la Compagnie ainsi que toute situation où il pourrait y avoir une apparence de conflit. Les administrateurs sont aussi soumis à une politique spécifique sur les conflits d’intérêts. En outre, tout administrateur qui est intéressé directement ou indirectement dans un contrat avec la Compagnie doit déclarer son intérêt et ne peut ni assister ni participer au vote sur la résolution présentée pour faire approuver le contrat.

Les administrateurs, dirigeants et employés doivent remplir un questionnaire sur les conflits d’intérêts chaque année, dans lequel ils doivent déclarer les conflits existants et confirmer qu’ils n’ont pas utilisé ou divulgué de façon non autorisée l’information confidentielle touchant la Compagnie.

Comités

Le Conseil d’administration comprend cinq comités permanents, le comité de gouvernance, le comité d'audit, le comité des ressources humaines et le comité de placements. Chaque comité fonctionne en vertu d’un mandat écrit qui est réexaminé chaque année, et chaque comité fait l’objet d’une évaluation annuelle à l’égard de son mandat.

Le comité de gouvernance comprend le président du Conseil, le vice-président du Conseil, le président-directeur général ainsi que le président de chaque comité permanent. Il a pour mandat d’assurer la constitution, le développement et le fonctionnement optimal du Conseil d’administration et de ses comités et de veiller à ce que la mission et l’orientation stratégique de la Compagnie servent les meilleurs intérêts de la Compagnie, de ses clients et de ses assurés. Il représente le Conseil d’administration lorsqu’il n’est pas pratique pour celui-ci de se réunir.

Le comité d'audit est constitué de quatre administrateurs indépendants qui ont des compétences financières. Il a pour mandat d’aider le Conseil d’administration à s’acquitter de ses responsabilités en matière de vérification et de surveillance financière.

Le comité de révision est constitué d’administrateurs indépendants. Il a pour mandat d’examiner les opérations entre la Compagnie et des apparentés afin d’en mesurer l’impact sur la solvabilité et la stabilité de la Compagnie et d’assurer le respect des lois applicables.

Le comité des ressources humaines établit la philosophie de gestion des ressources humaines et assure la mise en place et la surveillance des politiques et des pratiques pertinentes. Il recommande les politiques de rémunération au Conseil et effectue l’évaluation du président-directeur général.

Le comité de placements supervise l’élaboration et le suivi des politiques de placement de la Compagnie.

Vous pouvez prendre connaissance de la participation des membres du Conseil d’administration aux réunions et aux différents comités en cliquant ici.

Formation

L’orientation des nouveaux administrateurs se fait au moyen d’un Guide pour le nouvel administrateur comprenant de l’information sur la Compagnie, sa structure organisationnelle, ses opérations internes, son orientation stratégique ainsi que de l’information sur le cadre réglementaire et sur les obligations d’un administrateur. Les nouveaux administrateurs sont aussi invités à discuter avec les principaux gestionnaires afin d’approfondir leurs connaissances des activités de la Compagnie et le contexte réglementaire lors d’une journée d’orientation. Les administrateurs bénéficient, en outre, d’une formation continue en cours de mandat sur les principales activités de la Compagnie et sur les tendances dans l’industrie des services financiers.

Évaluation

Le Conseil d’administration a mis en place un processus annuel d’évaluation du conseil et des comités ainsi que de leurs présidents. L’évaluation se fait au moyen d’un questionnaire d’auto-évaluation. Le Conseil et les comités sont évalués à la lumière de leurs mandats. Les résultats de l’évaluation sont examinés par le Conseil, qui suggère des améliorations et élabore des plans d’action. Les administrateurs sont évalués par les autres administrateurs à l’aide d’un questionnaire d’évaluation par les pairs. Il existe en outre un processus formel d’évaluation du rendement du président-directeur général, celui-ci étant évalué annuellement en regard des objectifs établis pour l’année et des habiletés personnelles décrites à son profil de compétences.

Rémunération

Les administrateurs (autres que le président du Conseil et le PDG) reçoivent des honoraires de 12 500 $ par année; le président du Conseil reçoit des honoraires de 25 000 $; les présidents de comités reçoivent des honoraires additionnels de 2 500 $ par année; le président du comité d'audit reçoit des honoraires additionnels de 1 500 $ par année.

Les administrateurs reçoivent, en outre, des jetons de présence de 400 $ pour le comité des placements et de 650 $ pour les autres comités et réunions du Conseil auxquels ils ou elles assistent.