• en-USfr-CA

Personal Investments

Assumption Life portfolios and funds

Funds

Many financial decisions are made in the course of a lifetime: retirement planning, education planning, tax reduction strategies and more. It’s always a good idea to call on experts to map out a plan and keep moving toward your goals. The same applies to your financial objectives. With Assumption Life Portfolios, you can rely on a seasoned team of invaluable allies. With the combined expertise of AGF, CI, Fidelity and Louisbourg Investments, your investments are in good hands.

Mutual funds or segregated funds?

People often wonder how to grow the capital meant to fund their retirement. Aside from bank mutual funds, insurance companies offer segregated funds that allow you to protect your capital.

A segregated fund is similar to a mutual fund, but generally comes with a guarantee upon death and a guarantee upon maturity. If you die before the maturity date and the value of the fund is less than the initial amount invested, this guarantee reimburses the difference. The guarantee may be lower if you make deposits after a certain age, for example, 80.

Let’s compare segregated funds and mutual funds…

The two types of funds have a number of things in common: they invest in stocks, bonds and money market funds, they offer potential for growth, they diversify investments and they are eligible for registered and non-registered plans. But segregated funds offer six clear advantages that mutual funds do not:

  1. Payout guarantee upon maturity: Upon maturity, the amount invested in your segregated fund is 75% guaranteed.
  2. Payout guarantee upon death: Upon your death, the amount invested in your segregated fund is 100% guaranteed.*
  3. Creditor protected: The designation of one or more beneficiaries according to the class of insurance beneficiary prescribed by law potentially offers protection against the seizure of your funds.
  4. Simplified and less expensive settlement: Upon your death, the amount payable is paid directly to any designated beneficiaries without going through your estate, thereby avoiding estate fees.
  5. Insurance protection: If your insurer were to declare bankruptcy, Assuris, a non-profit company that protects Canadian insurance holders, guarantees that you will receive 85% of the amount guaranteed upon maturity, or $60,000, whichever is greater.*
  6. Designation of a beneficiary for non-registered contracts: Estate planning and intergenerational wealth transfer can be facilitated by designating a beneficiary.

*under certain conditions

Segregated funds offer strong potential for diversification and growth. Offered with certain guarantees upon death and maturity, they are an important option to consider for investors who are approaching retirement or who want to secure their investments.

Assumption Life Portfolios – WRAP funds

It’s normal to wonder about investment choices and be tempted to make changes as the market fluctuates. With Assumption Life Portfolios, we handle asset allocation for your investments in order to maximize returns. The portfolio manager chooses the funds, maintaining the target asset allocation that you chose based on your needs and investor profile.

Guided by your advisor, you simply answer a few questions to determine your investor profile. Then you can choose the portfolio that suits your needs and matches your profile from among the four choices available. The portfolio manager takes care of:

  • Selecting the funds that will make up the portfolio.
  • Rebalancing the portfolio periodically to ensure its target asset allocation is respected.

Assumption Life Portfolios also offer:

  • Growth with less volatility, thanks to diversification on many levels – asset class, managers, management style, geography and economic sectors.
  • Access to multiple quality funds.
  • Expertise of 4 renowned managers – AGF, CI Investments, Fidelity Investments and Louisbourg Investments.
  • Payout guarantees at death and at maturity.
  • Potential protection against creditors.

Reaching your financial goals doesn’t have to be complicated. The Assumption Life Portfolios make investing toward your goals easy!

Investissement personnel

Fonds et portefeuilles Assomption Vie

Fonds

Plusieurs décisions financières s’imposent au cours d’une vie ;  la planification de la retraite, de l’éducation, les stratégies de réduction d’impôt, et bien d’autres. Comme dans tous les domaines, il est avantageux de faire appel à des experts afin d’établir un plan et garder le cap sur vos objectifs financiers.. Grâce aux portefeuilles Assomption Vie, vous pouvez compter sur une équipe chevronnée, Avec la collaboration et les expertises combinées d’AGF, CI, Fidelity et Placements Louisbourg, vos placements sont entre bonnes mains.

Fonds mutuels ou fonds distincts?
Ceux qui épargnent se demandent souvent comment faire fructifier le capital destiné à financer leur retraite. Outre les fonds communs de placement (« fonds mutuels ») des institutions bancaires, il existe  des fonds distincts offerts par les compagnies d’assurance, vous permettant de protéger votre capital.

Un fonds distinct est un type de placement semblable à un fonds commun de placement, mais généralement assorti d’une garantie au décès et d’une garantie à l’échéance. Si vous décédez avant la date d’échéance et que la valeur de vos fonds est inférieure au montant initialement investi, cette garantie remboursera la différence. La garantie peut être moindre si vous faites des dépôts après un certain âge, 80 ans par exemple.

Comparons les fonds distincts et les fonds communs de placement…
Les deux types de fonds ont  plusieurs points en commun ; des placements dans des actions, des obligations et des fonds du marché monétaire, un potentiel de croissance, la diversité des placements, leur admissibilité aux placements enregistrés et non enregistrés. Cependant, les fonds distincts proposent six avantages indéniables que n’offrent pas les fonds communs de placement :

  1. Garantie à l’échéance : À l’échéance, les sommes investies dans votre contrat de fonds distincts sont garanties à 75 %;
  2. Garantie au décès : À votre décès, les sommes investies dans votre contrat de fonds distincts sont garanties à 100 %;*
  3. À l’abri des créanciers : La désignation d’un ou de plusieurs bénéficiaires selon la classe de bénéficiaires prescrite par les lois sur les assurances applicables offre une protection potentielle contre la saisie de vos fonds;
  4. Règlement simple et moins coûteux de votre succession : À votre décès, les sommes payables seront versées directement au(x) bénéficiaire(s) désigné(s), sans passer par votre succession, évitant ainsi les frais de succession;
  5. Protection d’assurance : Si votre assureur vie faisait faillite, Assuris, une société à but non lucratif qui protège les assurés canadiens, garantit que vous conserverez 85 % du montant garanti à l’échéance, ou 60 000 $, selon le montant le plus élevé;*
  6. Désignation d’un bénéficiaire pour contrats non enregistrés : La planification successorale et le transfert de richesses intergénérationnel peuvent être facilités par la désignation d’un bénéficiaire.

*sous certaines conditions

Les fonds distincts présentent un bon potentiel de diversification et de croissance. Offerts avec certaines garanties au décès et à l’échéance, ils deviennent une option avantageuse à considérer pour les investisseurs qui approchent  la retraite ou qui souhaitent sécuriser leur investissement.

Portefeuilles Assomption Vie - fonds WRAP

Il est normal de se questionner sur nos choix de placement et d’être tenté d’apporter des  changements en fonction des fluctuations des marchés.  Avec les Portefeuilles de fonds Assomption Vie, nous nous chargeons de la répartition de vos placements afin d’en maximiser leur rendement. Le gestionnaire du portefeuille s’occupe de choisir les fonds tout en maintenant la répartition cible que vous aurez choisie en fonction de vos besoins et correspondant à votre profil d’investisseur.

Guidé par votre conseiller, vous n’avez qu’à répondre à quelques questions afin de déterminer votre profil d’investisseur. Vous pourrez ensuite choisir parmi les quatre portefeuilles de fonds offerts, celui qui vous convient, correspondant au profil obtenu. Le gestionnaire du portefeuille s’occupe :

  • Du choix des fonds qui composeront le portefeuille;
  • Du rééquilibrage périodique afin de préserver la répartition cible de votre portefeuille.

De plus, les portefeuilles Assomption Vie vous offrent :

  • Une croissance avec moins de volatilité, grâce à une diversification des catégories d’actif, des gestionnaires, du style de gestion, de la géographie et des secteurs économiques;
  • L’accès à une multitude de fonds de qualité;
  • L’expertise de 4 grands gestionnaires de marque – AGF, Fidelity Investments, Placements CI et Placements Louisbourg;
  • Des garanties sur le capital au décès et à l’échéance;
  • Une protection potentielle contre les créanciers.

Peu importe votre objectif financier, les Portefeuilles Assomption Vie peuvent vous aider à l’atteindre en toute simplicité!